PDA

View Full Version : 5/3/1 or Westside, picking a program for long term sucess

MitchL
11-21-2011, 10:33 PM
Hi everyone, I've been reading threads here for a couple months. I'm a intermediate trainee with a couple meets under my belt. I plan on continuing to compete RAW and I'm looking for a good way to make steady progress. I've spent the last couple years piecing together my own programs with mixed success. The last year I've really been spinning my wheels.
I'm ready to give an established system a good 12 month try. I train by myself, sometimes 3x/week sometimes 4. My scheduled makes it hard to get in all my workouts.
It looks like there are many westside proponents here. Obviously westside produces results but is it realistic to do without a regular training partner or partners? I have to gym hop throughout the week and only one of the gyms I use has any specialty bars, chains, GHR, ect... I can realistically make this gym once a week (although I have considered buying 5/8in chain to bring with me to the home town gym, I do have some bands already).
5/3/1 seems like a good option, lots of flexibility, I can get the workouts in at most gyms. However I tried 5/3/1 for a number of months last year and only my squat seemed to be progressing (it did work well for my squat). Admittedly I may have pushed the top sets to much, I went for max reps most every workout except deload weeks.
So my question is- based on my situation having me gym hop (no hope for a good training partner in the immediate future) what would you recommend a raw lifter do?
BTW, I'm 30 years old with a few solid years of training under my belt. 6' 215 lbs, average recovery. Longer arms and legs. Current total is about 1300 raw.

kingns
11-21-2011, 11:39 PM