PDA

View Full Version : Starting box squats

K Y L E
12-18-2011, 09:56 PM
I purchased the Westside Book of Methods and I liked the idea of incorporating box squats into my routine. I've tried them before, but I tried them with the exact information I learned from the book and it worked out a lot better this time. I was pushing with my feet rather than my entire posterior chain. Since it was the first time I did it for real, I worked up to 185 lbs and did 12 reps. The box was a little higher than my knees at 21 inches. The book calls for 10-16 inch boxes. Since i'm just starting out, should I get used to the height of the box before I drop it lower, or should I just start doing it the proper way by training lighter, and immediately switch to a lower (16 inch) box?

RhodeHouse
12-18-2011, 10:09 PM
The box height should have you at slightly below parallel. Whatever height that is. I would start there and drop the weight and master technique before you increase.

RhodeHouse
12-18-2011, 10:12 PM
Taking a look at your lifts and your bodyweight, my first question is, what are your goals? At 150lbs my first and foremost goal would be to put on a buttload of size. If this is your goal, and God I hope it is, I'd drop the box squats. They don't do anything for building muscle.

Good old fashioned rep work is the answer, especially at your age and size.

Just my opinion.

K Y L E
12-18-2011, 10:47 PM