PDA

View Full Version : How much NSAIDs do you take every week during a training cycle?

dammstrate
12-25-2011, 04:50 PM
For a long time I took 4 200mg ibuprofens in the morning and than 4 again
at about 2pm for a 6pm lifting session. Did this 3-4 times/week, but usually
nothing on the other 3 days.

Recently 2 50mg indomethecins or 3 75mg Voltarins seem to do a better job.

How much of what do you guys take every week while in a meet prep cycle?

NITF
12-25-2011, 09:19 PM
I'm a lifting novice... but that seems like a shit-ton of anti-inflammatory meds with potentially adverse side effects....

theBarzeen
12-25-2011, 09:43 PM
I am getting pretty bad tendonitis in my right arm ( from conducting my band at work I think).... so I'll take two 200mg ibuprophen before benching...... that's it. Asprin every day for my heart, but I try to use as little NSAIDS as possible.

I try to rely on ice massage, regular massage, contrasting showers, foam rolling, etc.... instead of drugs if at all possible.

mastermonster
12-25-2011, 10:57 PM
One prescription Mobic 15mg. per day and a low dose aspirin, every day. 2-200gm Ibuprophen 4 times per day on non-training days. Training days it's the same except the pre-workout ibuprophen dose is 4-200mg softgels. After the meet I take a break from it except for the Mobic and aspirin.

barryisawinnah
12-26-2011, 07:06 AM
None, occasionally maybe like 200mgs if I have a headache (which is rare, and normally from being under hydrated)

Before football games a couple years ago, I was taking 1,000mgs, lol

dammstrate
12-26-2011, 07:57 AM
According to my doctor, people with chronic arthritis take 1200-1600mg ibuprofen
every day, or if that causes stomach problems, 2-3 x 50 indomethecins, or 2-3 75mg Voltarens. I try to not exceed this on training days, and do almost nothing on off-days to try to even it out. I have heard of a few people who take WAY more than that
on training days.

ThomasG
12-26-2011, 09:08 AM
Usually None.

jkstrength