PDA

View Full Version : Terrible Plateau issues in need of much help

Slothish
02-09-2012, 07:27 PM
This is my first post so I'll try to make it not suck so bad.
I have been lifting on and off for roughly 15 years, however I have not made any significant progress in the last 5, in fact I have actually gotten weaker on some assistance exercises.
I am 6' 305 lbs my raw paused bench is 455, competition depth squat (belt no wraps) is 565 and my deadlift is 605-620.
I have made no measurable progress since 2007, I have bulked up (340) leaned down (280 may not be lean but it is lighter), tried a variety of programs for 3-6 months all to no avail, right now I am following a 4 day a week split (Mon- chest, shoulders, tris Tue- Legs, Back and if I feel froggy Bi's, I then repeat with different exercises or reps/weights on Thu/Fri)
I am hoping that at 44 I am not done making gains or getting stronger, if I am done I am afraid my wife will take me to Crossfit with her...I am very certain that I will be a sad pale, hairy object of ridicule there, please help.

chris mason
02-09-2012, 09:05 PM
What is your exact training routine?

ZAR-FIT
02-09-2012, 10:00 PM
First, how consistent are you with your training right now??? Second, (and i always hate resorting to this but) at 44 you could have lower test levels than you once did... go get checked by a doc and see what he says.

drew
02-10-2012, 07:19 AM
You're all over the place. First, decide if you want to lift "on and off" or if you want to make progress. Most people can't do both.

Next, decide what your goal is. Is it to get stronger? Lose fat? Gain muscle? Be a body builder? Power lifter? Strongman? It looks like you are probably training like a bodybuilder but your talking numbers like a powerlifter. Pick something.