PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Macros

GymFean
03-27-2012, 08:58 PM
hello gents,
new to this forum and needed advice on macros....i have been lifting for a few years now, but recently got real serious about my diet.
i am 5'8, 190lbs, 17%bf...( so the hand held machine sais) The problem is i am coming off a bulking phase where my macros were at 3700cals 50%cbs, 30%prtn, 20%ft and i gained alot of body fat in the mid section, even with a clean diet. maybe carbs were to high.
my goal is to be at 195lbs 10-12% bf from where i am now...
i know what to eat for a good and clean nutritious diet, but how many cals should i be at and what kind of macros should i have to loose the midsection but maintain the muscle? i know i will have to drop some weight to drop the bf, but i would like to keep the size if possible. should i go 40/40/20 or low carbs high protien and fat or what? i am kind of stuck with loosing the bf, but still being able to muscle building going...should i eat like im 195lbs 10%bf (3061cals) or different...
any help from the experienced would be appreciated...

Rileigh
03-28-2012, 05:44 AM
I'm sure more experienced people will chime in, but I generally don't worry too much about the macro breakdown of things. I drink two protein shakes, one during and one post workout and other then that eat normally. That being said, I love meat. So generally my diet tends to be high on the protein intake when you consider the meat and protein shakes.

As far as calories go, I generally have a rough idea of where I'm at during the day, but again typically don't pay too much attention to it (unless I've been indulging ie cake at a work party or whatever). I know from experience that when I'm eating above 2500 or so I'm maintaining or gaining. Below that I tend to lose. That being said, to start cutting - rather then change my diet I've started running (intervals usually) for 40mins 4 days a week or so, and biking on the weekends.