PDA

View Full Version : Squat Depth Help

JohnnyRingo
05-16-2012, 12:07 AM
Hey guys, I need some help. I have tried many different methods to get to competition depth on my squat, but nothing has helped. I have stretched, weighted stretched, yoga type stuff ect. and nothing has worked. I have partial tears in my knees, and the worst is a pinched nerve in my groin area. I have been studying everything to do with lifting for a couple years, but due to health issues I have only been lifting for roughly 8 months. I was wondering if anyone knew a method to gain flexibility for pinched nerves? The only way i can make depth is to do this weird tip toe dance. The 2 things that have helped me the most are front squat and bear complex (power clean type stuff).

Stats: 22 years old, been training for 8 months, 6', 175 LBs., 215 Bench, 320 DL, 140 MP, and squat to depth .......maybe 85 or so. These maxes are estimates (I haven't maxed in a while). My big problem is my strength is my legs. I can squat maybe 90, but yet i can squat roughly 300 just 2"s or so above depth. Any help is appreciated, as I want to compete in full comps, not just Push & Pull. Thanks guys.

thecityalive
05-16-2012, 12:37 AM
Bear complexes for competition squat? A chain that consists of a power clean, front squat, push press, back squat and another push press. I'm just lost as to where the power clean and the push presses are going to help with your squat depth.

I can squat maybe 90, but yet i can squat roughly 300 just 2"s or so above depth.

You may have answered your own question there. Instead of just going for the big numbers, why not just work your squat up to a threshold where you can handle it and progress from there. Almost getting depth is not getting depth at all in a full meet.

Cards
05-16-2012, 07:51 AM
I like Rob's idea of dropping the weght and focusing on form, but what about using a box? Not only will it teach you to sit back but it will also give you something to aim for.

drew