PDA

View Full Version : Too skinny, want to gain weight. What should I do?

Clear12k
08-25-2012, 12:47 PM
I'm about 5'9", 130 lbs right now. I think I have a lot of fat on my face because I have chubby cheeks (not a lot, about moderate). I can't seem to gain weight so I think I have fast metabolism or something is not right with my body. I'm tired of looking this skinny so I want to do something about it.

I'm kind of new to bodybuilding stuff so I don't know the best way for me to start.

My plan is to do these things:
Diet: milk, eggs, chicken, vegetables, rice, supplements
Exercise: high intensity interval training, dumbbell/kettlebell, playing sports
Sleep: 6-8 hours/day

What do you think?

I want to stay on a budget so probably going to buy food in bulk and cook at home. What should I eat that have high calories and cheap?
How do I get rid of my chubby cheeks (too much fat in the wrong place)? How do I make my other body parts bigger (mostly chest, butt, arms, legs)?

Can anyone point me in the right direction regarding threads/sites/resources that can help me?

Thank you for your help.

thecourtside
08-30-2012, 10:02 AM
like others have said, this is the most common q for skinny people who can never gain. i'm in the same shoes and just started last week. we just aren't eating enough. simple at that. I started eating more learn meats and force myself to eat as much as I can take. not overeating just yet but you have to add more food in any way possible as long as it is healthy. lift 3-4x a week. a lot of people recommend starting strength routine. bottom line- stuff your face with food all day and lift 4x a week and you WILL see growth.

Kiaran
08-30-2012, 10:15 AM
How old are you? And what does your current exercise pattern look like in an average week? (i.e. how much sports, how much activity, etc.) What do you do for work? (i.e. sitting or standing all day)

FearFactory
08-30-2012, 10:52 AM