PDA

View Full Version : Tips on gaining lean muscle???

LanceCriminal
09-28-2012, 08:14 AM
I am 20 years old, 5'9'' at 150lbs, and have never been able to gain weight. I want to put on some mass while keeping the six pack I've just always had. I just started lifting heavy with low reps 3 times a week and mainly stick to compound lifts. I also do cardio 2-3 times a week on the days I don't lift. I've been reading lots of different information about how important diet is when trying to gain muscle, and want to make sure I'm getting enough of what I need to grow. Here's an example of what eat on the days I lift. Any tips, things I should add or get rid of, substitutions, or anything would be really helpful, thanks!

Wake up at 3 AM (pre-workout): 1/2 cup of oats, 1 banana, 12oz of milk.
*Back to sleep until 4:30 AM)

5 AM to 6 AM workout
Post-workout/breakfast shake: 1 scoop of whey protein, 12oz of milk, 1/2 cup of oats, 1/4 cup of raisins, 1 single serving cup of peanut butter.

9 AM: 1/2 cup of brown rice, 4oz can of tuna, 1/4 cup of raw almonds.

12 PM: Small salad w/ fat free dressing, 3oz chicken breast, 1 banana, 2 pieces of wheat bread.

3 PM: 1/2 cup of brown rice, 4oz can of tuna, 1/4 cup of raw almonds

6 PM: Small salad w/ fat free dressing, 3oz chicken breast, 12oz of milk.

9 PM (before bed): 1 scoop of whey protein, 12oz of milk.

Equals out to around 3400-3500 calories with 47% carbs (412g), 27% protein (239g), and 26% fats (102g). Thanks for the help!!!!

Holto
09-28-2012, 11:54 AM
The two most important things to know:

1) what is your maintenance calorie intake
2) what is you daily caloric intake

At athlete that requires 3000 cals per day will gain weight on more than 3000 cals per day. An athlete that requires 3000 cals per day will lose weight on less than 3000 cals per day.