PDA

View Full Version : Stoped gaining on 5X5 Program now what?

C_apedaile
10-16-2012, 07:44 AM
I am a 44 year old beginner who has been following a 5x5 program since February and am now stalling. I train 3 days a week Mon and Wends 5X5 and Friday I generally train Strongman. Any help is appreciated.

B.S. 140 to 260
F.S. 120 to 160 traditonal grip 180 bodybuilder grip
B.P. 90 to 160 I have right shoulder injury from military not bad but flares up every now and then.
OHP- 60 to 120 strict press, have gotten 160 on log press with leg drive.
D.L. 220 to 320 still makeing some progress but only about 1lb to 5lbs every 2 weeks.

BloodandThunder
10-16-2012, 07:53 AM
Once you stall, reset the weights back a few weights and work up again. Keep working technique. You may want to shuffle around your workload and stick more strictly to the routine since it's foolproof.

After stalling a few times and milking the 5x5, you can move to a wide assortment of programs. A classic linear periodization, Texas Method, 5/3/1 (what I'd recommend for someone in your shoes), or if you can run it correctly, conjugate periodization/Westside. Read about them all, at your level, each one should benefit you.

Also, try to understand why you shoulder is flaring up. Don't let that linger and be proactive about it.

ScottYard
10-16-2012, 10:09 AM
531 works great for many. Give it a shot.

C_apedaile
10-16-2012, 02:32 PM
Thanks for the feed back. I was just reading through the HCT12 program and may give that a try. 5,3,1, would be my next choice. I have been training with a lot of volume Reg Parks 5X5 program is great but lots of volume takes 2hrs to work through so 5 to 6 exercises per workout is sounding pretty good right now. I did study up on the West side method and even started using it but only for several weeks because I thought I was too new to lifting. That system is used predominantly in the gym I work out at although a lot of guys are on the Juggernaut program right now.

Judas