PDA

View Full Version : Is this normal ?

jc_az
06-26-2002, 11:05 AM
I was on a cutting diet with the usual breakdown of 40p/20f/40c at 2200 calories.

I went back to bulking and am now at 2750 calories, but I changed the breakdown to 30p/55f/15c and I have lost weight over the last two weeks totaling 3 lbs.

Is this normal ? Should I keep adding calories and see what happens ? I thought if I increased calories I would start to regain some weight, but I thought the lower carbs. would keep my weight gain more lean

Thanks.

Manveet
06-26-2002, 11:15 AM
The only thing that I can think of is that you lost a bit of your glycogen stores. When you were consuming 40 carbs, you were probably pretty well saturated with glycogen. But now, since you have cut them way down (15%), you lost those stores, hence the reduction in body weight. However, I am no expert, so I'm only speculating.

Saint Patrick
06-26-2002, 11:40 AM
30p/55f/15c sounds like more of a cutting diet to me, not bulking.

jc_az
06-26-2002, 01:29 PM
Originally posted by Manveet
The only thing that I can think of is that you lost a bit of your glycogen stores. When you were consuming 40 carbs, you were probably pretty well saturated with glycogen. But now, since you have cut them way down (15%), you lost those stores, hence the reduction in body weight. However, I am no expert, so I'm only speculating.

I thought I was already depleted as I was eating about 60% carbs. before.

I am eating about 100g of carbs. p/day now.

Thanks for the information.

jc_az
06-26-2002, 01:33 PM
Originally posted by stpatrick44

I didn't think the breakdown would matter that much for bulking as long as I am eating more calories than I require for normal activity and I am. As I said I've added 550 calories than I was a couple of weeks ago when I finished my cutting diet.

When I ate more carbs. before like most suggest, yes, I gained weight, but it was more fat than anything.