PDA

View Full Version : Would a degree in health sciences aid me in becoming a strength and conditioning coac

Falcon63
10-27-2012, 02:11 PM
coach?

I ask because I'm currently majoring in Criminal Justice in college and I realized that it is NOT what I want to do with my life. I want to be a S&C coach and possibly open up my own gym later in life. However, the closest major I found in my University is this:

http://www.fairmontstate.edu/schoolofeducation/academic-programs/health-science

Does that sound like the type of degree that would aid me in becoming a S&C coach?

Jonathan E
10-27-2012, 02:14 PM
I know ZARFIT and some others have experience in the field. Try asking them.

ScottYard
10-27-2012, 02:27 PM
Internships and work study type arrangements play a big role in that field as well. Not just the degree. I hope Matt Rhodes chimes in as he works for a University doing that now.

Falcon63
10-27-2012, 02:38 PM
Internships and work study type arrangements play a big role in that field as well. Not just the degree. I hope Matt Rhodes chimes in as he works for a University doing that now.

Well, I know that, I'm hoping to get an internship my junior and senior years. However, I'm just not sure if that degree description is what I'm looking for.

Hopefully it is along the lines of aiding me become a S&C coach because I've already transferred once and I don't want to transfer again, but I DESPERATELY want to change my major. I know it will add two more years to my college expenses, but I don't know where I'd go to learn to become a S&C coach other than college.

If I could become a S&C coach without going to college, that'd be GREAT, since I think college is a waste of time and money, but I wouldn't even know where to get an internship, and colleges usually have connections for that type of stuff.

Butcher
10-27-2012, 02:46 PM