PDA

View Full Version : Big Ragu's 5/3/1 Journal

big ragu
03-25-2013, 11:59 AM
3-25-13
I've never done one of these things so I figured maybe it'll help me hold myself accountable if it's out there on the web. Today I started the 531 program. My goals are to get stronger, plain and simple. I'm new to all of this, so if anyone happens to read this and see something I'm doing wrong, please comment. I'm not dieting, I'm just eating. I'm 6'4, 220lbs. So without further ado, I bring to you, day 1:
Bench Press:My 1RM is 315.
Couple warm up sets
185X5
210X5
240X8
Assistance:
Flys-50X15, 5 sets
Dips-Body WeightX50

Thoughts: Going into the workout I wondered how I'd feel afterward. Just didn't seem like a ton of work, so I figured it'd be easy and I'd walk out feeling like I didn't do enough. This was not the case. My chest was swollen when I was done, I felt like I had gotten a hell of a workout. I assume that's due to the high reps of assistance work. Even now, a couple hours later, I'm walking around work feeling like Jay Cutler (if you look at the amount of weight I lifted, you would no that I have no business feeling that way!). I'm looking forward to tomorrow and seeing how that goes.

big ragu
03-26-2013, 10:24 AM
3-26-13:Slept decent last night, was really tired throughout the night but couldn't fall asleep til about 11. I get up at 5am every day for work so I was a little light on sleep. Chest was a little sore from yesterday but overall I felt great. I hit the gym this morning around 10:45 for Military Press day. I kind of had to guess at my 1RM, as I never really went all out on this lift before. I guessed it somewhere around 160.
A few warm up sets
95X5
110X5
125X10
Assistance:
Shrugs-A few warm up sets, then 2 sets of 225X20. At this point everything was on fire!
Close Grip Bench-Couple warm ups, then 135X12. Again, everything burning