PDA

View Full Version : Warmups for Bench Training

Travis Bell
04-16-2013, 08:29 AM
How do you guys warm up for bench training?

When I first started I'd really not do anything. As time went on though I slowly accumulated more bodily abuse that I needed to take care of to prevent a serious injury.

I usually start with some internal and external rotation stretching for about 5-10minutes, then move on to indian club swings for about 2min, some light pushdowns for a set of 30 and sometimes lacrosseball massage on the shoulders and forearms.

I'm training early in the morning as well which makes a difference. I haven't been moving around all day, rather I've been sitting in my truck for 2hrs driving and I'm usually stiff.

This stuff has greatly alleviated a lot of injuries during training. My shoulders feel good most days, elbows feel good etc. But it's boring and sometimes I like to change it up so I'm interested in seeing what you all do.

Murderous
04-16-2013, 08:55 AM
I am a novice lifter but I usually did a set of external rotations just to warm up the rotator cuffs and then I would do a lengthy warmup on the bench with small increments. If I was to be attempt a new max of 220 I would warm up this way:
Bar×10+
65 lbs×8-10
95 lbs×8-10
115 lbs×8-10
135×6-8
155×5
185×5
200×3
2 sets of 210×2
220 1RM attempt

Travis Bell
04-16-2013, 09:46 AM
Yeah I'm more talking about the stuff before benching.

Most people start with the bar and work their way up, although there was a time when I didn't do that even lol.

BloodandThunder
04-16-2013, 10:03 AM
I do some thoracic extension work, some pull aparts and face pulls with a small band, some YTWLs and some general traction work on the shoulders to add to what Travis put down. Pretty much enough to get a light sweat going before I even hit the bench.

ScottYard
04-16-2013, 01:36 PM