PDA

View Full Version : How far do you travel to train?

Travis Bell
06-21-2013, 09:48 AM
Just curious for the guys on here, how far do you travel to train?

Do you travel because of a commercial gym that has the equipment to train with or because you have training partners you prefer to work with?

I run my own facility so most of the week I'm 4 miles from the gym, but every wednsday and occasionally on Saturdays I drive down to Westside which is 220 miles round trip. I really bend a lot of my schedule to make that work but I've been driving that trip for 4 years. Before that I was about 45min from Westside and made the trip every day.

It is a huge pain in the neck occasionally but always worth the effort to train with my Westside brother.

JohnnyRingo
06-21-2013, 09:57 AM
Travis, I remember reading one time you drove around 2 hours just to train, and that blew my mind. I feel like I would lose my motivation (car rides make me drowsy even when I'm driving, not dangerously so just out of it). I am a 7 minute bike ride from my gym. In the next year I'll be around 45 minutes away. That's when I'll start building my home gym.

Falcon63
06-21-2013, 10:36 AM
15 minute drive. But, if it was too far, I'd just use my tiny home gym and calisthenics. I LOVE calisthenics!

ScottYard
06-21-2013, 03:52 PM
5 minutes. I'm lucky. I train at a smal private gym that's in an old leather shop that we rent from a lady. The owner is a successful insurance agent that's benched 455 raw at198 but is retired from the platform. He charges a small yearly fee and then pays a good 7,000 or so yearly for us to train.

Alinshop
06-21-2013, 04:17 PM
Just curious for the guys on here, how far do you travel to train?

Do you travel because of a commercial gym that has the equipment to train with or because you have training partners you prefer to work with?