PDA

View Full Version : Protein from bars?

furious
09-13-2002, 06:15 PM
I am a full time student, and thus I rely on protein bars to suppliment much of my protein and caloric intake. My questin is this, is the protein from bars as effective in aiding muscle growth as protein obtained from whole foods?

BUFF STUFF
09-13-2002, 06:31 PM
Why cant you make weigh shakes or weight gainer shakes in a bottel?? Thats what I did

Cheaper and easyer to digest!:alcoholic

Puttn
09-13-2002, 07:10 PM
yea i do make whey shakes but sometimes ill have no time to drink so i eat a bar from class to class i substitute a meal for a bar probly 2 times a week

BUFF STUFF
09-13-2002, 07:46 PM
if you have time to eat, how cant you have time to drink a weight gainer drink?:confused:

Manveet
09-15-2002, 10:42 PM
Ya I agree with BUFF STUFF. I am also a full time student and hold down a part time job. I friggin pack sandwhiches and pre mix meal replacements the night before I journey out to school. I eat in class, or between classes, or whenever I get the slight chance to stuff my face. With that said protein bars ok when you are really strapped, I do it occassionaly. But I am an advocate of real food, mainly because it's cheaper.

The_Chicken_Daddy
09-16-2002, 04:02 AM
Originally posted by Manveet
But I am an advocate of real food, mainly because it's cheaper.

Me too. Quite a strong advocate in fact, although i know B&I disagrees to some extent. But that's a different topic.

The way to keep a solid diet with time restraints is to think and plan well ahead. Hell, i cook chicken breasts a few days in advance and keep them chilled in my fridge until i need them. I eat them cold. I actually prefer the taste that way. But then again, i'm a freak with weird taste buds these days (after so long dieting, bland food tastes really nice, until i have a cheat or whatever, and then suddenly it's like my taste buds have been 'reset' and the bland food once again tastes bland. Weird, no?)