PDA

View Full Version : Too much protein?

Jeff2840
09-18-2002, 03:24 PM
I've read in here that you're supposed to have 1 gram of protein for every pound you weigh. As a result, I'm supposed to have about 200 grams of protein. That's quite a bit.

I have whey protein powder which gives me 20 grams per serving. I was wondering if it was bad to have 2-3 servings a day. In addition, is there a serving limit which I should be aware of?

The_Chicken_Daddy
09-18-2002, 03:47 PM
The only bad thing per se is the cost of doing so.

200g is about average for most people.

It's quite easily achieved via real food that comes at a much lower price than whey (unless you have some magic deal on whey somewhere?)

Look into:

tuna, eggs, cottage cheese, nuts, cheap chicken breasts? cheap turkey?

teddyrogers
09-18-2002, 03:50 PM
im not an expert but i think u should aim for about 1.5 g per lbs of bodyweight.
so u should be aiming for about 300g of protein which should be split up into 6 meals through the day making 50g of protein per meal. u can only take in so much protein per meal. all meals should be between 2 and 3 hours apart.
i hope this helps.

The_Chicken_Daddy
09-18-2002, 04:03 PM
1g per lb is fine.

Providing your overall calorie intake is sufficient you'll grow (that is, providing you're actually aiming to add 'gain' and not 'cut').

Blood&Iron
09-18-2002, 04:30 PM
Originally posted by The_Chicken_Daddy

It's quite easily achieved via real food that comes at a much lower price than whey (unless you have some magic deal on whey somewhere?)

Whey has some big drawbacks, but I don't think price is one of them. I've never down a cost-analysis, but I'd be surprised if any other protein source is as cheap.

If you buy 10lbs Optimum, at $48 US, that's ~144 servings, each containing 22g protein. So, it's about 33 cents for 22g protein. I doubt there's anything cheaper...but I'd be happy to be proven wrong.

Maki Riddington
09-18-2002, 04:54 PM