PDA

View Full Version : Ketosis and Weight Lifting

njtrq
09-21-2002, 09:34 PM
If I do a total ketogenic diet (under 30 grams of carbs, 100+ grams of fat and 100+ grams of protein) while simultaneously lifting weights(moderate, not to intense workouts) will I lose muscle? I hear conflitcing views everywhere. I hear that ketosis preserves muscle better than any other diet and then the same people say that carb-ups help rebuild muscle lost from ketosis. I'm a 22 year old male, 5'9" 200 lbs. I want to cut 15 pounds and i've tried everything imagineable. Could someone please clear things up for me. The only way i lost fat in the past was with low-carb diets but i never lifted while on them. I have been lifting for the last 2 years and over did it on the bulk-up phase. Any advice on lifting while in prolonged ketosis will be greatly appreciated. THANKS FOR YOUR TIME

iLUDEd
09-22-2002, 12:21 AM
if you wana go keto, theres an article on here about training while on it, basically what you do is this..

just say your aiming to go keto mon-fri, and you carb up on sat and sunday.. you split a full body workout over monday and tuesday (after youve carbed up), and you do a full body workout on friday (before you carb up again) which would only be like 1 set of everything..

you most likely will lose muscle, as its carbs that kinda help you keep your muscles hard.. and dont forget to take your multi-vitamins..

The_Chicken_Daddy
09-22-2002, 07:36 AM
Originally posted by njtrq
[B]If I do a total ketogenic diet (under 30 grams of carbs, 100+ grams of fat and 100+ grams of protein) while simultaneously lifting weights(moderate, not to intense workouts) will I lose muscle?

Those numbers aren't the requirements for keto for everyone. Ketosis generally comes with 75% of fat coming from fat and 25% from protein. Most people hit ketosis with liver glycogen at about 50 mol/dm. Just eating 100g+ fat and 100g+ protein won't necessarily get you into ketosis.