PDA

View Full Version : TMan's Basic Training

TMan
09-29-2002, 08:34 PM
TMan's Basic Training

INTRO

I'm fairly new to lifting and I have the tendency to change routines on a monthly basis. I had a journal at one time on another board and that was the only time I stuck with a routine for more than 6 weeks. I'm hoping that by starting with another journal, I'll stick with my routines longer.

Here are my stats:

Height: 6'1"
Weight: 186 lbs.
BF%: About 13.5% (using 3 site calipers)

I've been lifting for about 9 1/2 months now. I lifted for about a year in college many moons ago but not very effectively. I've jumped from routine to routine about every 4 - 6 weeks. About a month ago, I realized that my strength was pathetic for someone my size. Although I'm not huge by any means, my maxs are weak to me. My goal now is strength gain with emphasis on the "big 3" lifts. Size is secondary but I realize I'll need to get much bigger to be where I want to be.

Here are my pathetic max lifts taken about 3 weeks ago:

Squat: 155 lbs. (Bleeech!)
Bench Press: 185 lbs. (OK, I guess)
Deadlift: 195 lbs. (needs work)
----------------------------------------
Total: 535 lbs. (I'm so depressed!)

I need to get these numbers up, especially the squat! I will get these numbers up or die trying!

The routine outline is next.

PowerManDL
09-29-2002, 08:42 PM
Originally posted by TMan
I'm fairly new to lifting and I have the tendency to change routines on a monthly basis.

We call that "MonStar syndrome"

:cool::cool:

TMan
09-29-2002, 08:48 PM
THE ROUTINE

I'll be following the "Basic Training" routine outlined in Paul Kelso's book Powerlifting Basics, Texas Style. This is an awesome book, BTW. If you liked McCallum's KTP, you'll like Kelso's book as well.

Here's the routine:

Workout A
BTN Press 4x8
Power-Style Squat 4x8
Bench Press 4x8
Power Cleans 3x6
Standing Calf Raises 2x8-10

Workout B
Deadlift 4x6
High bar Squats 2x12
Flat DB Press 3x8-10
Bent-Over Rows 3x8-10