PDA

View Full Version : Atkins no carb diet and bodybuilding for mass

kathnmarc
10-10-2002, 07:02 AM
Is the Atkins diet a good choice for someone wanting to gain mass and get ripped at the same time? Is this safe? Am I making a big mistake. Any comments/help is greatly appreciated.

The_Chicken_Daddy
10-10-2002, 07:10 AM
Not really, no.

gaining mass usually requires a surplus of calories.

Getting 'ripped' usually requires a deficit of calories.

Unless you're a new trainer, extremely fat, both or using drugs, it's an unlikely scenario.

Atkins is a poor chocie for gaining mass.

It is also a poor choice for getting 'ripped', IMO.

How new are you to the lifting idea?

kathnmarc
10-10-2002, 08:33 AM
I lifted for a couple of years back in my teen days, but just started back up recently. I do have some excess fat to get rid of, but not like the typical 32 year old. I want to cut up, but I do not want to sacrifice "bulk building" time. Any suggestions? Basically, I am a beginner, but am very serious about my body and my health....I do not drink, smoke, or do drugs, I just need to finish up by building the best body I can.

mightypudge
10-10-2002, 08:44 AM
Kathnmarc,

I'm basically in the same situation. I was 275 lbs. but worked my way down to 225 with Weight Watchers. Then I started getting into lifting and realized my calorie intake was too low.

Basically, bodybuilding appears to be made up of two general phases: Bulking and Cutting.

During Bulking phases, you need to keep your calories, proteins, and carbs relatively high. The protein adds the mass to your muscles while the carbs give you the energy you need. I'm on a 2600 calorie diet, and I'm going for at least 175 g. of protein, 115 g. fat, and 230 g. carbs.

During Cutting phases (which I am not too familiar with yet), you would need to drop your calorie intake.