PDA

View Full Version : CKD questions

Tank23
12-12-2002, 02:45 AM
I'm giving a CKD a go. I've read up on it but i have no experience with it. I have a few questions:

I know that you're supposed to be in a state of ketosis while on a CKD, but what if you were to be doing low carb but not low enough to be in a state of ketosis? Would this affect the outcome greatly?

I ask this question because I eat tomato sauce with my chicken and other meats, and I think tomato sauce (in the US i think y'all call it ketchup) has a bit of carbs in it, I don't know how much though, and if it will affect my CKD or not.

If I'm doing a lot of lifting at work, how will this affect my diet/training in terms of the CKD, i.e: will doing all this lifting cause me to deplete all my glycogen stores and maybe cannabalise my muscles? or something like that?

Any other info would be great too, like personal experience with the CKD and any other suggestions.

-Tank23

Shao-LiN
12-12-2002, 03:16 AM
Originally posted by Tank23
I know that you're supposed to be in a state of ketosis while on a CKD, but what if you were to be doing low carb but not low enough to be in a state of ketosis? Would this affect the outcome greatly?
-Tank23

Well, if you aren't eating to be in ketosis, then you aren't doing a CKD.

http://www.wannabebig.com/article.php?articleid=34
http://www.wannabebig.com/article.php?articleid=45

2 links explaining CKD. You can also do a search to find numerous threads on the subject.

If you want to do a CKD, you'll have to suck it up and give up the carbs you usually eat. Veggies are pretty good to eat on a CKD, imo. Trace amount of carbs, but they're fibrous. You don't need the tomato sauce, hehe.

raniali
12-12-2002, 11:12 AM