PDA

View Full Version : Help putting together a good cutting diet?

NotSoBig
01-21-2003, 10:06 PM
I am looking to put together a good cutting diet and was hoping I could get some feedback from others. I know nothing when it comes to diet other than mine must be screwed for me to look the way I do...

...anyway, I am wanting to lose a good 20-30 pounds (I think) because most of what I have now is fat. I need to get a caliper to figure out my exact body fat, but i'm sure its high.

Some facts about me:
21 years old
190 lbs
5' 10"

I work in construction, usually eat 2-3 meals a day and tend to pig out on weekends. Some foods I enjoy eating are chicken breasts, pastas, corn, potatos, and steaks. Its safe to say that you will never see a meal eaten by me, that doesn't include chicken or pasta. I have always been a real picky eater, and don't like many fruits / vegetables.

I am working out 1 hour a day on a total gym 1500. Its not the weight training I want to be doing, but until I get moved its all I have.

That is basically my life in a nutshell. I want to take this and make a good diet, and maximize my results with working out.

I hate to keep coming here asking for someone to figure all of this out for me, but the more I read, the more confused I become. I just want to know what, when, and how to eat, and the same for excercising. Every place I look, seems to have a different opinion though.

Anyway.... sorry for the ramble, just trying to give as much info as possible.

Thanks in advance

bradley
01-22-2003, 02:46 AM
First you have to find a daily calorie intake that will allow you to lose approx. a pound a week. Might start out at 12*bw and increase or decrease your cals until you are losing approx a pound a week. 12*bw is usually used as a rough estimate to find caloric intake while cutting.