PDA

View Full Version : Trying to understand, please bear with me.

NotSoBig
01-24-2003, 04:24 PM
I am working on a cutting diet for myself and my fiancee. I am trying to understand this though.

You have to burn more calories than you take in to lose weight? Is this correct?

You should take in 12* your bodyweight in calories, is this correct?

With these 2 factors in mind, I am having a hard time understanding how to burn the body fat. For myself, I don't think it will be real hard because I am trying to do cardio 3 x a day and I work in construction so I keep myself busy all day. My fiancee on the other hand, works in an office and only walks 3 miles a day.

So if my fiancee is 190 pounds, she is supposed to be taking in 2280 calories in a day. According to the teadmill, the 3 miles of walking only burns 300 calories. So what am I missing here? How many calories does the human body burn normally in a given day? She does very little physical work (mostly computer related)

Thanks in advance for the help. I am really getting confused about all of this.

NateDogg
01-24-2003, 04:31 PM
Everyone is ALWAYS burning calories. You burn them when you sleep, eat, take a leak, just stand there, just sit there, etc.

Question 1. Correct.

Question 2. Try it, it may be too many calories, it may be too few. If she's losing weight, it's not too many. If she's not losing weight, it may be too many.

Of course if you can get her to start lifting, or even with light jogging, she may be able to put on *very little* muscle and therefore it may seem like she is not losing weight, but she is losing fat and gaining muscle. That would not last long though (if only walking) as you need to provide progressive resistance (not provided by running) in order to keep gaining muscle.

bradley
01-24-2003, 04:36 PM