PDA

View Full Version : Burning fat but gaing muslce?

Haven
03-03-2003, 11:41 PM
I have been lifting for about 2 years and have made some major gains. I have put on muslce and weight consistantly. Just recently I started to get a little "pot" belly going. I have fixed up my diet to drop some cards, and eat healthier, and took up a cardio program. My questions is, can I still gain muscle, while I am trying to burn my little gut/fat? I really don't like the idea of loseing weight, since I still need more muslce mass, to be at my ideal weight.
Stats:
5'10"
32 Waist

Saint Patrick
03-04-2003, 12:51 AM
Welcome to your first Cutting phase. Now is the time when you should concentrate on fat loss, and just try your best to hold on to the muscle mass that you already have. Unless you're taking steroids, it's virtually impossible to lose fat and gain muscle at the same time. After you've lost enough fat, start eating again and gaining muscle. you won't reach your goals overnight. These things take time.

What is your body fat %? If you don't know, find out. I'd say if you're 16% or lower, keep eating. If not, start dieting.

bradley
03-04-2003, 02:50 AM
Sounds as though you are on the right track. Keep your diet clean and add in some cardio. This will probably do the trick but if not just decrease cals in small increments. You don't want to do both at once which could lead to LBM losses. Although keep in mind when trying to add LBM you are going to accumalate a little fat.

aka23
03-04-2003, 09:53 AM
It is difficult for well trained persons to gain muscle while losing fat, but it is certainly not impossible. I think this is practical goal, considering that it sounds like you are not at a low body fat.