PDA

View Full Version : a healthy egg?

mikey4402
03-18-2003, 09:10 AM
this is my first post so please bare with me. this is my first semester at college, and i usaly eat in the caffateria. most days i order 3-4 egg over-easy,becouse it is fast. my question is if i squeeze the yoke out on to my plate (becouse i have been told that the yoke is the unhealty part of the egg). would this make my meal more healthy.

millertime
03-18-2003, 09:17 AM
You were told wrong, most of the eggs protein is in the yolk. Unless you have a cholesterol problem eat the whole egg.

mikey4402
03-18-2003, 09:19 AM
thanks for the help. as you can see im new at the bodybuilding game lol. i look forword to posting again sometime

GonePostal
03-18-2003, 09:26 AM
If your cutting you may want to cut the calories by not eatting the yolk but otherwise eat away. 1/2 the protien is in the yolk i believe.

Relentless
03-18-2003, 09:27 AM
well

the yolk also has all of the fat

so if you're eating enough fat elsewhere you may not need it; the whites are pure protein, but it takes a ****load of 'em to get any decent amount

do your research and learn about food and then you can make your own educated guesses/judgements. To be successful in the iron game takes as much skull sweat as gym sweat.

ElPietro
03-18-2003, 09:38 AM
Yeah I think most of the protien is in the white, not the yoke as stated above.

If you have 4 eggs every single day, I'd say maybe get rid of 2 or 3 yolks. Or one day just have whites and then the next have a few yokes. Eggs are good, but if you include the yolks the cholestorol levels can get pretty high if you are eating 4 of em on a daily basis.

You could just ask for the whites scrambled, and put some squirt some tobasco sauce and some pepper on it. Prolly taste just as good or better.

millertime
03-18-2003, 09:48 AM
"one egg white offers only about 3 grams of protein" an egg has a total of 8 grams of protien, you do the math.