PDA

View Full Version : Ideal Pre-During-Post- Workout nutrition

Silverback
03-19-2003, 11:24 AM
Does anyone have any information on this vital nutrition time? i.e. in terms of carbs and protein per pound of bodyweight etc...

Ive always thought that pre-workout carbs were useless and were a contributor to fat-production, now i hear the opposite, that it can help the the prevention of catabolism.

Then there is the amount post workout, ive always had something like gatorade, now im being told that i need about 100g of carbs post workout. Somebody help clear it up for everyone :)

NO2
03-19-2003, 11:38 AM
we all know that its good to feed your muscles
1g of protien per pound is right

carbs are good before workout
it give you some energy and you burn the fat when your lifting

its good to have a protien shake when your done your workout...the carbs are incl in the shake

to get big faster have a protien shake during your workout - arnold-

well i hope i helped a bit....

im not a pro but i read from them.. :)

Silverback
03-19-2003, 11:43 AM
Hmm alright i appreciate your advice, but ive got a good knowledge on nutrition, what i was really wanting was specific amounts in terms of grams.

B-R

aka23
03-19-2003, 12:27 PM
Does anyone have any information on this vital nutrition time? i.e. in terms of carbs and protein per pound of bodyweight etc...
Then there is the amount post workout, ive always had something like gatorade, now im being told that i need about 100g of carbs post workout. Somebody help clear it up for everyon

According to Lyle Mcdonald,
"Although guidelines are sparse, typical recommendations for post-workout are 1-1.5 g/kg (.45-.7g/lb) of carbs and about 1/3rd as much protein."

Brian Haycock suggests a lower amount is okay when the carbs are split into two postworkout meals:
"It is recommended that at least 0.7 - 1.0 gram of carbohydrate per kilogram body weight be consumed immediately after exercise and then again 1-2 hours later. "