PDA

View Full Version : cutting loses muscle?

peatr99
03-25-2003, 06:58 PM
can someone explain why a cutting cycle makes you lose muscle? Isn't protein the thing that builds muscle? So if you keep your protein intake up, and you eat less fat and carbs, wouldn't you maintain or build muscle because muscles aren't made of carbs and fat?

I know thats incorrect but i need someone to explain it correctly.

EdgarMex
03-25-2003, 07:02 PM
I'm no expert, but the rest of the guys here will tell you that in order to build muscle you need to eat more calories than you burn. When you're cutting, you are in a caloric defict in order to bern the excess fat. In that process you will lose muscle, how much you lose depends on your diet. If you don't lower you calorie intake too much (the usual formula for cutting is 12 cals per pound of bodyweight) and keep your protein consumption at over 1 gr per pound of bodyweight the muscle loss will be minimum.

I think that about sums it up. Guys, if the above needs to be corrected please let me know

peatr99
03-25-2003, 07:08 PM
well i'm aware of the basic idea, but what is the actual process behind it? not necessarily in a totally medical way, but more detailed into what actually happens. specifically, why do you need fat and carbs to build muscle if its made of protein. thanks.

EdgarMex
03-25-2003, 07:15 PM
I read this stuff on Power Eating, but I don't have the book with me to give you the explanation. From what I remember, carbs are the preferred source of fuel when excercising, because they can be broken down easier than fat and protein. Protein is important during recovery to repair damaged muscle from the wrokout and to build new muscle. I can't remember exactly the role fat plays into all this.

AJ_11
03-25-2003, 07:18 PM
Originally posted by peatr99