PDA

View Full Version : summer workout goals

unshift
04-19-2003, 08:48 PM
last summer i started lifting and exercising after 7 years of sitting in front of a computer and eating crap all day... so needless to say im quite a bit overweight and looking to thin out

ive been lifing for this whole school year but because of circumstances beyond my control (dorm food, crappy workout schedule, crappy school gym, etc) ive only been able to maintain my weight and not lose any

this summer my goal is to lose 50lbs (in about 4 months). im 5'7 now, about 280lbs :(, if i stick with the following schedule do you think its possible?

monday - chest/triceps, 30-45 mins cardio
tuesday - stomach, 45-60 mins cardio
wednesday - back/biceps, 30-45 mins cardio
thursday - stomach, 45-60 mins cardio
friday - shoulders/legs, 30-45 mins cardio
saturday - 45-60 mins cardio
sunday - rest

and for a rough outline of my diet (estimated about 1500-1700 cals):

meal 1: met-rx shake after lifting
meal 2: salad (croutons, cheese, low-fat dressing)
meal 3: met-rx shake again
meal 4: turkey sandwich
meal 5: chicken breast or other meat
meal 6: met-rx shake yet again

roughly 2-2.5 hours in between each

again, my goal is weight loss/strength gain, i dont really care about getting HUGE muscles. you guys think i can lose 50lbs in 4 months if i stick to it?

Ironman8
04-19-2003, 10:28 PM
First, you need way more calories. After that, experiment with calories until you're losing 1 pound a week.

Second, get some more healthy fats you your diet. Like fish oil, peanuts, olive oil, flax, etc.

Also, where's most of your calories coming from? You should be getting most of it from protein. You can track you calories at fitday.com.

I know that wasn't alot of help, but other people on this board can fill in more.

unshift
04-19-2003, 11:07 PM
Originally posted by Ironman8
First, you need way more calories. After that, experiment with calories until you're losing 1 pound a week.