PDA

View Full Version : First Timer Here With Some Diet Questions

robinhood
05-12-2003, 02:55 PM
Hello all,
I just realized a few days ago that my lifestyle is pretty bad. In terms of diet I guess. I spend most of the week eating pretty decent: FF cottage cheese, 93-7 ground beef, boneless skinless chicken, brown rice, and tuna are regular parts of my diet. However, I'm a college student so once Thursdays roll around, my diet usually consists of beer and taco bell. Then comes Monday and I look at myself in the mirror and well, I know I could stand to lose some pounds. So now I'm comin to you guys for some help & guidance.

I'm a pretty big guy, 6'2" and about 220-225 lbs. I played sports in high school and did some regular weight training then but once in college I injured my knee and havent been able to be as active as I would like since then. Currently, I jog in the evenings and spend a lot of time jumping rope but I would like to get into the gym and get toned up. Im not looking to get huge or anything, basically I want to lose some weight and get myself to a level of comfort with myself.

So what I'm asking is, what kind of a diet would you guys recommend I start with if I'm trying to cut pounds? Obviously the beer and Taco Bell need to take a hike :)

bradley
05-12-2003, 04:26 PM
Here are some general dieting guidelines that might be of some help:
1) 1 gram of protein per lb. of bodyweight

2) 25-30% of daily calories should come from fat (Essential fatty
acids making up most of this total)

3) Fill in the rest of daily calories with low glycemic index carbs, except postworkout which would ideally include high glycemic index carbs along with a quick digesting protein (whey protein).

4) Drink plenty of water throughout the day, and one gallon would be good starting point.

Listed below are some good sources of each macronutrient. This is just a small list and is by no means all inclusive.

protein sources: eggs, chicken, lean beef, dairy, fish