PDA

View Full Version : I'm getting fat...

Sootah
05-21-2003, 12:58 AM
I've been lifting for several months now, and have been gaining weight (as expected). I've never had the best diet, most of the time I don't take in enough calories. But lately I haven't really had time for the gym, and eating like I used to (which, as I said, isn't nearly enough) I swear my gut is getting bigger.

Did my metabolism change to adjust for my training regimend, and now that I'm not expending all that energy I'm fattening up?

Damnit. I almost had abs too.

For he who has no time. How do I drop the weight? I can't really feasibly eat much less. (I'm at 5'11" 155 lbs right now, so I'm not actually FAT, just pudging up)

lazyman79
05-21-2003, 02:26 AM
Well for one at 5'11 and 155 pounds I would not be worried about fat, but that is just my opinion. I don’t know why you may be getting a gut, but I can tell you that a change in your activity level can play a big role with your metabolism. Like you said yourself it might have changed due to your training. It can slow down or speed up depending on what you do. Increase activity level and it gets faster, sit on you butt and it gets slower. If your activity level is lower your body might not be using up all the other calories like it once had when you where working out. Plus diet is (extremely) important. For example you may still be taking in the same amount of calories before you started working out, but what kinds of foods where they before and after. You may not realize it but you might be eating even unhealthier than before (Just a thought). Take a look at what you eat as well as your current training and activity level. And if you are really serious about losing weight especially at your height and weight try cardio as well. It is the best natural way to lose fat. Hope this helps…

bradley
05-21-2003, 02:56 AM