PDA

View Full Version : powerlifting routine - feedback

blowdpanis
06-07-2003, 06:36 AM
i'm curious how many people currently follow a powerlifting routine, as i've flirted with the idea of attempting to focus on bringing up the strength of the 'big three' (though probably shrug bar deadlifts over the standard straight bar variety) for a while.

westside etc...feedback, perhaps, on these regimens.

DK
06-07-2003, 01:06 PM
I do westside. It has really helped me build the three lifts. Westise is great. You can customize it many different ways to train your weaknesses. I also like the amount of ME lifts that you can choose from. This is my favorite type of "routine" I've ever done. I've never done any powerlifting before I started it just bodybuilding.

blowdpanis
06-07-2003, 04:18 PM
Originally posted by dkliewer
I do westside. It has really helped me build the three lifts. Westise is great. You can customize it many different ways to train your weaknesses. I also like the amount of ME lifts that you can choose from. This is my favorite type of "routine" I've ever done. I've never done any powerlifting before I started it just bodybuilding.

well gimme more specifics...what would a typical week for you look like. how do you mark progression...how often do you actually TRAIN your PR's for the big three?

DK
06-07-2003, 06:45 PM
well gimme more specifics

Check out my journal. Paul Stagg, NateDogg, and Budiak are all doing westside too.
www.elitefts.com (http://www.elitefts.com) This is the home of westside. Read and learn.

what would a typical week for you look like

Sunday: Max Effort Squat/Deadlift, Tuesday: Max Effort Bench, Thursday: Dynamic Effort Squat/Deadlift, Friday: Dynamic Effort Bench. On the max effort days you pick a movement and work up to a 1RM. On the dynamic effort days you do explosive movements. For Squat/Deadlift day you do box squats, and for the bench day you would do speed benches.

how do you mark progression