PDA

View Full Version : How harmful is beer/alcohol to a CKD diet?

dirty-c
07-09-2003, 07:38 PM
I was wondering if anyone has an opinion on how much alcohol interferes with the CKD. I know that when alcohol is present in your system, you will remain in ketosis, but use ketones from the alcohol rather than bodyfat or dietary fat. I also know that when its time to carb up, you want to maximize the uptake of glucose into muscle glycogen.

I was wondering if anyone knew any facts about how alcohol affect the process of creating muscle glycogen. The only time I drink is during the weekends (during which I would be doing the carb up). I guess I can consider quitting drinking, but I'm a college student. My social scene revolves around alcohol. I'm not a drunk or anything, and I only drink on weekends, and not even always.

Anyways, just seeing if anyone knows anything....?

bradley
07-10-2003, 03:12 AM
THE EFFECT OF ALCOHOL INTAKE ON MUSCLE GLYCOGEN STORAGE FOLLOWING PROLONGED EXERCISE.

Burke LM, Collier GR, Broad EM, Davis PG, Martin DT, Sanigorski AJ, Hargreaves M.

Sports Sciences Sports Medicine, Australian Institute of Sport, Belconnen, ACT, Australia; School of Health Sciences, Deakin University, Burwood, Victoria, Australia.