PDA

View Full Version : worst case scenario

in the pit
08-24-2001, 01:53 PM
This is my first time posting here. I feel totally out of place, since I don't bodybuild or anything. But I would really like to later on in my life (I'm 17 years old). I'm horribly skinny, and don't have much of an appetite for food. I tried, for a month, to eat as much as I could, and I didn't gain any weight. I guess that was foolish.

I'm not active, very sedentary (is that the word?), and I don't have access to a gym or weights or anything. So I have a few questions:

1. Is there anything I can do to increase/double my appetite?
2. Are there any exercises, such as push-ups maybe, than can help build muscle?
3. What can I do to keep myself motivated?
4. What are some foods that can be bought at the supermarket that could really fatten me up and I can cook quickly?

I'm not interested in protein intake or carbs or whatever. I just want to see all possible methods of weight gain, whether it be fat or muscle.

I don't have the money to buy any weight sets or supplements. I was thinking maybe I should try to get a weight gain supplement, but I'm not sure I would be able to eat an entire serving of the stuff.

Can I get any help, or is my only option to sit around until I have the conveniences?

Thanks.

The_Chicken_Daddy
08-24-2001, 02:05 PM
you don't want to gain fat you fool!

Why no gym access? buy some weights!

in the pit
08-24-2001, 02:37 PM
Yeah...I knew fat isn't a good thing to gain.

I don't have the transportation to get to a gym.

heathj
08-24-2001, 02:39 PM
How far away is your gym? You could run or ride your bike there if it's relatively close (within 10 miles).

IceRgrrl
08-24-2001, 04:03 PM
Increasing your activity level may increase your appetite. Just get out and MOVE...walk, jog, bike, kick/throw a ball around.

Pushups, situps, etc. are a good start. Eventually you might want to try out a gym; many will let you have a 1-2 week trial membership.