PDA

View Full Version : 3x3 - a new approach

DK
07-17-2003, 08:51 PM
I've been thinking alot lately about where my training is going. I've been doing westside for about 10 months now. I've seen good gains, but after reading this threadwww.wannabebigforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=34468 (http://www.wannabebigforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=34468), I've decided I need to rethink why I seem to injure my lower back quite easily when doing deadlifts. I'm not a very experienced lifter. I've been lifting for awhile, but I still haven't figured out a lot of how my body will respond to certain methods.

Hell, I just started squatting about 9 weeks ago (because of lack of a rack). I've only been doing squats off a box no free squats.

I also know that my bench form could use some work. It has always been my weakpoint. I'm bringing it up slowing, but I still have room for a lot of improvement.

I wanted something that would give me practice on all three lifts. I'm thinking I might try a cycle or two a 3x3, just to try it. It couldn't hurt.

But the lack of speed work and some assistance work has me worried. Has anyone done this. I'd for sure add in some ab work, but what about other movements. Any thought? Anyone tried 3x3?

Paul Stagg
07-18-2003, 09:14 AM
I've never used it, bt I htink it's a great idea for someone who needs to practice the lifts.

I also balk at the lack of assistance work, especially the lack of pulling. I'd modify the program a little, and add in some chins and rows on one of the days, and maybe some cuff work and ab work.

fuzz
07-18-2003, 09:32 AM
I think the 3x3 would be a great program ...here are some articles on it for anyone who doesn't know about it:

http://www.deepsquatter.com/strength/archives/index.htm