PDA

View Full Version : Coffee protein shake



paisano
08-03-2003, 08:17 PM
I wanted to do something different with my shake so I put a package of vanilla Myoplex MRP with some skim milk into the blender and then added about 2 Tbs Starbucks whole coffee beans and blended on high until beans were ground up and pureed into the Myoplex. Tastes awesome!!!

I suppose you can use any MRP or any coffee, but the coffee and vanilla whey taste great together.

SoulOfKoRea
08-03-2003, 08:32 PM
sweet jeebus, my auntie owns a starbucks and she brought my family a couple bags of those coffee beans... must try tomorrow morning!

mikey4402
08-04-2003, 09:54 PM
yummm sounds good

SoulOfKoRea
08-06-2003, 10:19 AM
how much milk did you use, exactly...?

SquareHead
08-06-2003, 10:28 AM
Oh wow. That's a good idea mang. Ill give that a try too.

paisano
08-06-2003, 10:48 AM
Originally posted by SoulOfKoRea
how much milk did you use, exactly...?

I didn't measure, but I'd say about 2 cups of milk. I forgot to mention that I threw in a few ice cubes also.

APE.
08-07-2003, 08:07 AM
I'm a coffe fiend so I just tried it; pretty good.Better than I thought it would be.

SoulOfKoRea
08-07-2003, 08:16 AM
Originally posted by APE.
I'm a coffe fiend so I just tried it; pretty good.Better than I thought it would be.

me too! me too! actually, I tried it last night and it kept me up for a good hour longer than I intended to stay awake...

my suggestion: use less milk, the coffee didn't grind very well with so much liquid, 1-1/2 cup is probably how much you used...

paisano
08-07-2003, 11:04 AM
Originally posted by SoulOfKoRea

my suggestion: use less milk, the coffee didn't grind very well with so much liquid, 1-1/2 cup is probably how much you used...

Yeah, 1-1/2 cups is probably right because it was pretty thick when I added the ice cubes.

I got a pretty good caffeine blast too. I never ate unbrewed coffee before, so I didn't know what to expect. Next time, I'll try it pre-workout to give me some extra kick.

Ebu
08-23-2003, 09:43 AM
You grind up the coffee beans in it??? Never ate coffee beans before.

paisano
08-23-2003, 02:23 PM
Originally posted by Ebu
You grind up the coffee beans in it??? Never ate coffee beans before.
Me neither, before I tried this. You've got to blend it at max speed for about a minute for best results. You can use pre-ground coffee if your blender doesn't do a good job of grinding it fine enough.