PDA

View Full Version : A little cardio in the mix?

steadygaining1
08-05-2003, 05:33 AM
Hi,
I am new to posting but have browsed the site religously for quite a while. I have been lifting for about 3 years, in the last year I have increased my intensity. I am 5'11" and weigh 175lbs. I currently do upper body 3 times a week and legs 2 times a week, I vary my exercises slightly every two weeks for a change. This method has really been working for me, I have tried different splits and currently I like this method best.My question is, I would like to put a little cardio in the mix, not for cutting, but just so I can eat a double whopper without guilt on cardio days;) . Should I do 20 min (2 miles) of cardio as a warm up on leg days? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

defcon
08-05-2003, 06:38 AM
you'd have to do a hella lot more then 20 mins of cardio to burn off that burger :P

AllUp
08-05-2003, 07:08 AM
Hmm:/ 175*2 = 350 / 3.5 = 100cal/mile according to that site I saw on one of the posts from Determined.

>> http://www.bodyfatguide.com/PoundADay.htm

Better Start walking :D

-Allup

IronDaddy
08-05-2003, 09:46 AM
A regular whopper is about 600 calories. Double is probably close to 1000. Even doing HIIT that at least an hour of cardio and full speed. Is it worth it?
Burger King is the Devil!!!:soapbox:

Rudee
08-05-2003, 11:00 AM
Move your cardio to the end of your workout, after you've done your strength training. Your strength training workout should of used up much of your glycogen, which gives you a better chance of tapping into your fat stores when you start your cardio session. If you're doing cardio on the same day you do your strength training, limit your cardio sessions to no longer than one-half hour. Too much cardio - when combined with strength training - can throw you into overtraining mode. Especially if you're on a restricted calorie diet.

eatdirt40
08-05-2003, 11:57 AM
Originally posted by steadygaining1