PDA

View Full Version : What should I eat?

Scade
09-18-2003, 11:41 PM
Here is the problem. I am kinda new to bodybuilding, about a year ago i got into the groove of working out. But then I got into a motorcycle accident and got hurt so i had to stop. So now iam starting back up again but here is my problem. I dont know what to eat, i mean i know i need protein and all but what specific foods should i eat. Could some of you guys give me a few examples of what your meal plan for a day or week consists of. My biggest problem is I always eat the fast food and fatty foods so i never really get down to teh weight i would like to. But any info you guys can give me I appreciate it.

iLUDEd
09-18-2003, 11:45 PM
protein:
steak
chicken
lean beef
tuna
whey protein
egg's

carbs:
vegi's
wholemeal bread
wholemeal pasta

fats:
fish
nuts
omega 3 capsuels..

youll find alot more by using the search function on the top right hand corner of this page.. good luck

bradley
09-19-2003, 02:25 AM
I have posted this in numerous threads, which should point you in the right direction as far as planning a diet.

Welcome to WBB:)

Food choices:
http://www.wannabebigforums.com/sho...ht=grocery+list

Here are some general dieting guidelines that might be of some help:
1) 1 gram of protein per lb. of bodyweight

2) 25-30% of daily calories should come from fat (Essential fatty
acids making up most of this total)

3) Fill in the rest of daily calories with low glycemic index carbs, except postworkout which would ideally include high glycemic index carbs along with a quick digesting protein (whey protein).

4) Drink plenty of water throughout the day, and one gallon would be good starting point.

Listed below are some good sources of each macronutrient. This is just a small list and is by no means all inclusive.

protein sources: eggs, chicken, lean beef, dairy, fish

low GI carbs: oats, sweet potatoes, beans, whole wheat bread, vegetables, fruit