PDA

View Full Version : chalk-free gym

unshift
09-20-2003, 09:52 PM
i've never used chalk before, but now that i switched gyms and changing my lifting style i'm finding that it's time to start... especially since at the new gym, the bars are much thicker than i'm used to and have pretty weak knurling

the only problem though is that the gym doesn't allow chalk (probably not deadlifts either, but they can go to hell). it's a gold's gym, but everything there is purple and there are basically a bunch of queers running it (don't even get me started on the people lifting there)

are there any decent alternatives to chalk? i'm finding that on my cleans and especially my deadlifts, the bar is getting slippery and my hands very sweaty (i wear wrist wraps now). i recently bought a box of chalk, should i just use it anyway? or is there any (invisible) alternative?

PowerManDL
09-20-2003, 09:54 PM
Use chalk anyway.

If they have a problem with it, chalk conveniently doubles as a ninja escape smoke-cloud.

unshift
09-20-2003, 09:58 PM
i'll bring smoke bombs too just in case

but is it good practice to needlessly chalk the bar the way i want to, ie for squats or bench? i'm thinking i should remain low-profile about my chalk use but yet i want to spread the dusty white love to all the bars in the gym, because none of them are knurled properly. i guess they don't want to get callouses like us uncivilized "breeders"... :rolleyes:

PowerManDL
09-20-2003, 10:01 PM
Use your chalk everywhere. You should be using chalk for leg presses.

unshift
09-20-2003, 10:03 PM
i'll chalk up the pink dumbbells for when i do my kickbacks too :thumbup:

ryan1117
09-20-2003, 10:06 PM
I'd just use straps if I were you. I'm in the same postion during the school year and I figure it is better to lift to your potential than to lift under your potential. I wasn't able to use chalk last spring and I still picked right up where I left off once I used chalk in a different gym over the summer.