PDA

View Full Version : Bulk & Cut ??

JNowiski
09-28-2003, 11:00 AM
I have been working out for 3 or 4 months now, and gained some mass from working out, do you think it would be better for me to go ahead and cut, then bulk, or get some protien powder and bulk some more?

Im at about 14 -16% bf.

Jasonl
09-28-2003, 11:23 AM
its really up to you, what your goals are and such. i personally clean bulk until i hit about 17-18% then cut until i can see my abs again. have you ever cut before, prepare to be in hell!!
good luck

JNowiski
09-28-2003, 11:28 AM
No, I have never really been in to bodybuilding. I like PowerLifting and strongman, but im not strong enough to compete in those, so I figure I might try to look alright while in high school.

SO you think I should do protein for a few weeks, then cut? I might pick up some protein tonight.

Also, do you notice better results with protein powders when you workout in the morning?

SoulOfKoRea
09-28-2003, 11:39 AM
sorry JNowiski, protein powder isn't magic :)

you'll see better results when you take in enough protein to build new tissue(muscle to be exact) - with a variety of high protein foods and with supplements if you want. 1 g/lb bodyweight is all you really need.

take it post workout with dextrose and/or maltodextrin in water

you should ALWAYS keep protein intake high, cutting or bulking, it wouldn't matter

once again, protein isn't magic

JNowiski
09-28-2003, 11:41 AM
I know im not going to gain 20lbs of lean muscle in a week or two, but my protein intake is pretty low right now, so it wouldn't hurt at all.

Trent_Steel
09-28-2003, 12:12 PM
I like to think of protein like house bricks!

Let me explain, you cant build a house with out enough bricks, so no matter how fast you can lay bricks, if you dont have enough your not going to be able to build that house.