PDA

View Full Version : muscle loss occurs at approx how far below maintenance?

TiGeR AK
10-01-2003, 03:23 AM
just as a general guideline.. how much below maintenance do you have to be to start to lose some muscle?

because i have been cutting for about a month, and have lost about 5-7 lbs... but the little flab around my waist just doesn't seem to budge. i'm doing a slow cut so as to spare as much muscle as possible.

i'm afraid to lower the calories more, because i don't want to lose muscle, and yet... i also want to lose the flab.

so i'm kinda torn here.

typically how long should i be cutting if i'm trying to lose 1-2 lbs per week, before i see some solid results?

defcon
10-01-2003, 04:36 AM
it would depend on ho fat you are before you se results.. just kep going at it.. and im no expert, but i believe you should just lower your cals to a point that is appox 500 below maitnaice.. then after a while if your fat loss stops, a in MORE cardio.. then when it stops again, prolly drop cals 100-200 more.. but that would be it.. just keep upping the cardio i guess..

bradley
10-01-2003, 05:31 AM
Originally posted by TiGeR AK
just as a general guideline.. how much below maintenance do you have to be to start to lose some muscle?

It would depend on various factors such as current bf%, setpoint, diet, training, etc. If you are at a higher bf%, i.e. above natural setpoint, then you can get away with a larger calorie deficit and probably avoid losing LBM. As you get leaner you would want to concentrate on losing smaller amounts of weight each week, as well as incorporating refeeds.

because i have been cutting for about a month, and have lost about 5-7 lbs... but the little flab around my waist just doesn't seem to budge. i'm doing a slow cut so as to spare as much muscle as possible.