PDA

View Full Version : Substitute for protien shakes?

furrukh
02-05-2004, 01:50 PM
Hi all,
from where i come from protien shakes are nearly impossible to find, so we gotta order them online. I was wondering if there was anything close to protien shakes which i could drink/eat as a close substitute before or after my workouts?since i am trying to lose my body fat and work on my underdeveloped muscles?

Thanks

rerard
02-05-2004, 02:06 PM
eggs, egg beaters, lean meat, milk, soy stuff

geoffgarcia
02-05-2004, 02:23 PM
why not just by them online then? surely there must be a market for this stuff in australia also?

furrukh
02-05-2004, 02:36 PM
Well geoff,
I am visiting my parents for holidays and this is where i started weightlifting, i am returning to australia by march and will shop around for them. As i am totally new to this, Could you kindly advice me as what to buy? how to make a protien shake? and when to drink it,that is pre or post workout(and how many minutes or hours to drink it pre/post workout)? keeping in mind that i am trying to lose a lot of body fat and replace it with hard rock muscle. Thanks a lot mate! :)

geoffgarcia
02-05-2004, 02:44 PM
if your new to working out then the quality of your protien wont matter to much...getting finicky about the different types (isolates, peptides, hydro, egg, casein etc..) is more for the hardcore lifters that are looking to get every iota possible out of a workout.

For a beginner I would imagine that a simple blended protein that has a good flavor would be the most important. how much and how often to take it completely depends on what your daily diet is like and I dont want to make any assumptions about that.

Most people find that taking a protein shake 2-4 times per day is needed to get enough protein for their muscles.

Post workout (within 45 minutes) is the most critical time to take a protein shake.
if you opt to take one preworkout then take it 45 minutes before you go to the gym.