PDA

View Full Version : Keto diet + lots of protein = add muscle???

Another1
02-17-2004, 01:53 PM
I read a somewhat similar thread from a while back and everyone seemed to think that you can't gain muscle on Keto or you will gain very little.

I've been working out for over a year now and for the past 5 months I've been hitting it hard every day except Sat. and Sunday.

For the last month (a little over actually) I've been on a very strict super-low carb diet. The most carbs I get in a day probably come from the Optimum Nutrition Whey powder mixed with water that I drink a few times a day.

As of today I've never been stronger and at the same time I've dropped about 20 lbs. I'm still taking my 5g a day of creatine and drinking tons of water so I'm hoping a lot of that was actually body fat and not just water. If so then I can assume that I've put on new muscle. I'm definitely stronger as my lifts have gone up. My energy level is great now as well.

BUT I'm about to start 4 weeks of M1T and 4AD and hit it harder than ever. I don't want to do all this for nothing and make no decent strengh gains.
Is it possible for me to make decent gains if I have a high enough protein intake?

Does it really matter if my body is using fat or carbs for fuel as long as I have good workouts and a high calorie and protein intake?

Thanks.

Another1
02-17-2004, 07:58 PM
Nobody?

Maxgain
02-18-2004, 05:46 AM
I dont know about the cycle you are going on but normally you cannot gain muscle without having a calorie surplus keto or no keto diet

Relentless
02-18-2004, 05:56 AM
you are probably seeing your strength gains continue while low-carbing it because of those whey shakes you're having. I assume you're drinking 'em pre and post workout, yes?