PDA

View Full Version : First post; critique the newbie's diet

Rain_man
02-17-2004, 11:30 PM
Hello.

I've been browsing for a couple months now (not sure if this is the right forum for a first post) and I figure it's about time to get help with my diet. anyway, I came to the realization that although i think i'm eating right, I'm really not.

here's a breakdown of what I eat 6 days a week (7th is cheat, sunday):

meal 1: protein bar + apple
meal 2: protein shake + orange
meal 3: 1 can tuna w/ one tblspoon mayo + orange
meal 4: protein shake after lift
meal 5: dinner (usually chicken breast/turkey w/ greens)
meal 6: protein shaek b4 bed

totals: 1700 cals, ~40gs fat, 210 grams protein, 80gs carbs, leads to a 20/20/60 split.

now i'm looking to cut, but it appears that my cals are low enough? (i'm 5'9 205 btw). my question is basically where should i adjust my diet (which meals) and in which ways? I've tried searching, but obviously, there is no 'definitive' result, so i was wondering what would work best here?

any clarifications, feel free to ask.

Thanks

Tyler

Saint Patrick
02-18-2004, 01:30 AM
1700 cals is too low for someone who weighs 205lbs. Aim for 2100-2200.

You're eating more MRP's than real food. Drop one or two of the shakes and add a meal or 2.

Get some more healthy fats, like fish/flax oil or nuts.

Good luck w/ your cut and welcome to the site.

Rain_man
02-18-2004, 09:13 PM
hello,

Thanks for the welcome, i hope to enjoy my stay.

after reading a bit, i think i'll amend it:

meal 1: 2 slices whole wheat bread with thin layer PB
meal 2: chicken breast + brown rice
meal 3: can tuna + orange
meal 4: shake after lift
meal 5: chicken breast + carbs + veggies
meal 6: shake b4 bed.

where would you suggest adding the flax oil?

Deathwish
02-18-2004, 09:57 PM