PDA

View Full Version : how do you become dehydrated

snow
04-03-2004, 03:22 PM
from drinking too much water? is that possible? i lifted the other day, and drank about 64 oz while lifting. got home and i got this greenish dot in the middle of my eyes like when u look at a light for a minute. this light expanded until everything outlining my whole eyes was sparkly green and i felt like on an acid trip. my dad told me it has happened to him b4 and the eye doc said it was dehyrdation. could this happen 'cuz i drank too much water and pissed it all out (i pissed about 3 or 4 times in 30 minutes)

Y2A
04-03-2004, 04:08 PM
Ive never heard of being dehydrated by drinking too much water bro, but I suppose its possible, Im not an expert...

ogarchamplin
04-03-2004, 04:44 PM
Facts on Hyponatremia
For years, heath care and fitness professionals have stressed the importance of fluid intake and replacement in preventing dehydration. Therefore, most health conscience individuals are educated about dehydration and cases of dehydration have decreased in recent years. Yet, in some cases, people may take dehydration prevention a bit too far and unintentionally drink too much water. Drinking an excessive surplus of water can lead to over-hydration or hyponatremia. Although hyponatremia is rare and seen primarily in serious endurance athletes, such as marathon runners, it can be dangerous and fitness enthusiasts should be aware of the condition.