PDA

View Full Version : Cardio First Thing in Morning??

sp00d
06-02-2004, 12:07 PM
Ok guys, i'm just a beginner really. I am 5'8, weigh about 154lbs and can bench around 176lbs (dunno why everyone uses bench as a yardstick, but there ya go...). I am gaining mass, but SLOWLY. I eat a lot of small meals (tuna, chicken, whey shakes etc), and do each muscle group once a week. I workout about 5 times a week, sometimes 4 times a week (do biceps and triceps on same day).

What I would like to know is this: I dont want to increase my body fat, I like having a good power to weight ratio as I do a lot of rock climbing. I do my cardio (30mins on the cross trainer) BEFORE I lift each day, on an empty stomach (first thing in the morning), figuring that the ONLY place my body can get the energy from it needs is my fat reserves. I THEN do my weight lifting routine. I know people have said that I wont be able to lift intense enough as I will be starving, but i'm fine usually. Whether I eat or not doesnt matter that much, it's just a case of will power. Once I have finished my routine, I have within about 5 minutes of leaving the gym, some small meal with high quality protein (egg whites, tuna, etc).

Does this actually work? Am I burning fat reserves, or just simply creating a calorie defecit that i need to make up for by eating more? I am fairly defined/toned, but then I didnt have a high body fat level to start with. I dont want to stop doing the cardio, and "give it a try" because although i may over a few weeks gain more muscle more quickly than before, I may also gain muscle at the same rate and put on more fat, which id then have to work harder to get rid of. So before I change anything, I'd like opinions please.

It's hard for me to change my rotuine for some reason. It took me like 6 months to realise I dont have to do every body part intensively every day, and that I DO have to eat LOTS of food to grow.

ace dogg
06-02-2004, 12:20 PM