PDA

View Full Version : No More Lies. Only Truth.

Don Birnam
06-07-2004, 02:35 PM
This is my journal. As I start this, I feel the need to put my lifting career into perspective. I started lifting seriously (or so I thought) last April at about 188-190 lbs., probably my lowest weight since I was 17. Things went well... I was up to 209 by last August. I assumed without question I'd be at least 225 by today. Well things didn't quite turn out that way. Long story short, I started experimenting with different things, and I lost my focus. I was also dabbling in a sport where high body weight is a detriment. To cap it all, I spent the spring doing a 3-month investment banking internship where I worked 90+ hours per week, slept 5-6 hours per night and drank/partied in my free time like nothing else. Diet went out the door... I rarely ate breakfast and usually ate 2 meals a day. I tried to lift at the corporate gym when I could but it was difficult, and really a waste of time because of the rest of my lifestyle.

Well the past is past, and now I'm going in a new direction. I'm giving up on having a low body-fat percentage (which saddens me tremendously ;)) and I'm going on a legitimate bulk until at least the new year and I might possibly stick with it straight until next spring. I hope this journal will keep me honest and committed, because if I have a crappy workout or I start messing up I can't just pretend it didn't happen... it'll be right here for all the world to see.

I'm using a routine that's a combination of Doggcrapp's and Stuart McRobert's principles... Low volume, try to hit each bodypart approx. 3 times per 2 weeks. Big compound exercises, little overlap. Something along these lines:

Five Day Split:

Day 1: -chest press (i.e. DB incline press OR flat bench OR...)- 3 sets
-Military Press- 2 sets
-Narrow-Grip Bench Press OR Dips (tricep-focus)- 2 sets
-Shrugs OR behind-back Shrugs- 2 sets

Day 2: OFF

Day 3: -Pullups- 2 sets
-Barbell Rows- 2 sets