PDA

View Full Version : "cutting" question....

Punky
07-14-2004, 07:01 AM
I was reading the sticky "what a bodybuilder eats" and based on the calc's at the end of the post, subtracting 500 I should eat 1000 cals a day. (I'm a 5'1" female). From what I read, some guru says don't ever go below 1200....but why? Couldnt going below 1200 possibly be ok for the short women of the world and by me staying over 1200 is that why I don't see any dramatic results??? Some will say just to eat at least 1200 but workout more. I'm working out 4-5 days a week as it is, more emphasis on weights b/c I have a bum knee, but do try to do HIIT on the bike 2-3 days a week. I feel like there should be a revision of these formulas for petite women lol.

Thanks for any comments.

Stacy

Alke
07-14-2004, 10:31 AM
well, I am still learning about nutrition, here is my take on your question.

The reason your guru said not to go below 1200 is everyone has a Base Metabolic Rate (BMR) of calorie needs for the body to perform basic functions. BMR = Basal metabolic rate (BMR) is the number of calories used by the body when it is at rest. BMR accounts for most of a person's calorie use. A person's basal metabolic rate is based on body functions such as respiration, digestion, heartbeat, and brain function. One's age, sex, body weight, and level of physical activity impact the basal metabolic rate. Basal metabolic rate increases with the amount of muscle tissue a person has, and it reduces with age.

The more Lean Body Mass (LBM) a person has the higher the BMR.

The formulas are generic and just provide a starting point. I would think that even if a person is petite, I would not advise going below 1200. I do not know of any studies on the effects of going below 1200 per se', but maybe someone else can chime in with that.

Here is a link to calculating BMR http://www.hussman.org/fitness/bmrcalc.htm

If your currenlty losing weight this might help: