PDA

View Full Version : Getting lean and bulking possible?

ryan-
09-07-2004, 10:10 PM
So I've been bulking for a couple of months now, put on some weight and made some great increases at the gym. But, the past few days I've noticed a gut coming on. This is a bit of a problem seeing as I have a honeymoon coming up at the end of October. I'd like to shave off some fat in that area, but I'm not quite where I want to be in weight. So, I'm wondering if it would be possible to shed some fat while still gaining muscle and lifting heavy, or do I just need to cut? I'm willing to run on my days off and cut back 500 calories a day. I'm currently eating about 4000 calories a day, mostly a clean bulk. I lift Mon, Tues and Thurs, Fri.

I'd like to get some advice and suggestions on what you guys think I should or could do.

Thanks,
ryan

Manveet
09-07-2004, 10:39 PM
It is very difficult to gain muscle and lose fat at the same time. You can always gain muscle and minimize fat gain, or lose fat and minimize muscle loss.

Your best bet is to try UD2 (Ultimate Diet 2.0) Search this site for more info, and also go here: www.bodyrecomposition.com

ryan-
09-08-2004, 09:13 AM
Well I guess I'd be content with some sort of cut here. Winter is coming again and I can bulk then. To be honest I'm getting a little burnt out on some of the foods I'm eating.

I think what I'd like to do is cut off a little weight, and maybe add some definition to my muscle. Does anybody have any recommendations on how many meals I should be eating. I'd prefer something like 4 meals a day; breakfast, lunch, dinner, PWO. I just don't see myself eating 6 meals a day and skipping lunch. I need lunch to get out of the office and socialize :) Right now I'm lifting heavy weights with low reps. I'd like to continue to increase strength but if it's not possible with adding definition then I'll live.

1. Is there a rule of thumb for calories/carbs/protein I should use?