PDA

View Full Version : Struggling with protein daily intake requirements

Aoeteroa
09-13-2004, 08:52 AM
I've been training pretty much full-time for the last 5 years. Im 6"4 and weigh between 230-240 pounds with 15% BF. I've made pretty good gains but I feel I should have made better gains over this time. I think the problem I have is trying to meet my daily protein needs. I mean im finding it very hard to consume 1.5 grams of protein for my bodyweight. I'm out of ideas for eating protein!

Heres a pretty average day for me eating wise:

Breakfest - 8 egg whites, bowl of oats
Lunch - Can of Tuna,Rice/Pasta/Turkey - all mixed together in a sauce
Mid Afternoon - Whey protein shake
Dinner - Usually Fish,veges or Chicken stir fry with veges
Before bed - Protein shake/cup of oates

Thats pretty much what im going through everyday, to be honest, I dont think its enough. I know I should be eating something between breakest and lunch, also maybe add more to my meals. Im training for size right now, I'd like to get up to around 250 pounds if possible but Im outta ideas for other foods to eat. Anyone suggest another meal/snack I could incorporate into my diet. Also anyone have advice regarding my diet ie. Is it enough?, whats wrong with it?, etc.

Appreciate it fellas

Cheers

Max-Mex
09-13-2004, 08:56 AM
Do you actually track the amount of protien for each meal? Do you even track the total amount of calories for the day? Go to Fitday.com and setup an account (it's free). Enter your foods and you'll see how much of what your getting.

Aoeteroa
09-13-2004, 09:36 AM
Cheers Max-mex,

Thats a great website. It showed that I was right and im def not consuming enough protein. Adding up my daily diet I was around 275 grams of protein per day which is about 70 grams short for what I need to be consuming.

Any ideas on another meal I could eat somewhere in the day?. Im kinda outta ideas with what else I can eat.

ryuage
09-13-2004, 09:45 AM
70 grams short based on what?

Aoeteroa