PDA

View Full Version : Should I be eating more calories?

dunksworth
11-03-2004, 12:54 AM
I'm a newbie here so I apologize if this question has been asked time and time again, but is necessary for me to have an increased calorie diet if I'm already at my ideal body weight? I'm trying to bulk up right now and I know that in order to bulk up you need to increase your calorie intake, but I'm already kind of chubby and I'm afraid that if I eat more then I'll just end up gaining more fat.

Vido
11-03-2004, 01:06 AM
If you want to bulk up, you need to increase your caloric intake. If you're already chubby maybe you want to consider a brief cut before you begin your bulk.

dunksworth
11-03-2004, 02:05 AM
So if I were to do a brief cut, would that involve doing cardio regularly? The problem with this is that I work out at home and don't have a cardio machine nor can I go jogging outside because my neighborhood isn't very safe and it's also too cold up here in canada.

But I'm not all that chubby anyways (I'm 5'7 165lbs, I don't know my bf%, and I have fair amount of muscle). I'm really just wondering if can still bulk up without gaining too much weight (I'd prefer to stay under 170lbs).

ryuage
11-03-2004, 02:27 AM
if wanting to limit fat gain, i would increase calories slightly maybe 200-300 over maintenance... shoot for that 170 in the span of 2 months and you should be good to go.

dunksworth
11-03-2004, 02:47 AM
Would making only slight increases in my caloric intake be enough to get significant muscle mass gain though?

And is it possible to gain bulk without gaining weight? Because I'm already at my ideal body weight.

Thanks

Rex
11-03-2004, 10:31 AM
Would making only slight increases in my caloric intake be enough to get significant muscle mass gain though?