PDA

View Full Version : calories: too many/not enough...?

Big Daddy Cruel
01-11-2005, 05:31 PM
Hi, all. This is my first time posting here, but I thought it'd be appropriate b/c my measurements are pretty similar to another guy who posted who was 6'4 and 220.

Height: 6'4
Weight: 234 (shooting for .5-1lb a week weight loss)
Waist: 37.5 (shooting for 34" by 3/31)

I am just starting to add some fats to my cutting diet (6 g fish oil/olive oil) and get the cals up to ~2500 from 2000. Here is a sample day:

Meal 1: Protein shake (2 scoops whey, 2 cups skim milk, 2 tsp peanut butter)
(500 cals, 55 g pro)

Meal 2: Varies, but always at least 400 cal and 40 g protein Sometimes, a tub of ff cottage cheese (420 cals, 78 g protein)

Meal 3: Pre-workout: Protein shake

Meal 4: Post-Workout: Protein shake

Meal 5: Dinner: Low-carb pasta (320 cals, 56 g protein), spinach, olive oil: ~500 cals

Total winds up at about 2400 cals, with 260-280 g protein. On off days from lifting I sometimes cut to 2200 cals.

I do cardio 5 times a week, one hour (burns about 900 cals), and lift in a push-pull split.

I'm just not sure what my maintenance/cutting/bulking phases should involve, both in terms of calories and amount of protein/fats. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

--BDC

AdmiralDan
01-11-2005, 09:52 PM
as far as what you need for a cutting phase, at least 1 gm protein per pound of bodyweight. then make sure that you are making progress based on the number of calories you are intaking. if it isn't working, change it a little and see if that works. keep tweeking until it works

Rex
01-12-2005, 11:53 AM
Your kinda on the right track.